New Repertory Theatre is committed to the development and production of new work. Through our Next Voices Fellowship program, we are dedicated to providing a creative laboratory for four playwrights each season who will work as a group on tackling the challenges of their individual plays. We believe that bringing life from the page to the stage does not happen in isolation and neither should the writing process.

New Repertory Theatre seeks four playwrights to join us to work on one of their plays for a season.  The program will culminate in a workshop performance as part of New Rep’s Next Rep Festival in the Black Box Theater at the Arsenal Center for the Arts each spring. We seek playwrights with a strong vision, who have a specific play that connects to New Rep’s mission. These plays will be considered for a potential production in a Black Box theater space.  Selected writers should clearly articulate where they want their play to go and should be collaborative, open to discussion about their work, and able to engage with the group on other projects as well. Plays may be in the form of outlines, treatments or early drafts at the time of submission, though early drafts are preferred.

Each writer selected as a Next Voices Fellow will enjoy access to New Rep’s staff, area actors, designers, and directors to help realize their work. The group will meet regularly at New Rep’s offices to talk about the plays, and to hear them read aloud. Every meeting will focus on two playwrights’ work and will rotate each session.

New Repertory Theatre has an open submission policy for New England area playwrights looking to participate in our Next Voices Fellowship. Participants must be able to meet regularly at New Rep’s office in Watertown, MA.

Interested writers may send a cover letter, a synopsis of their proposed play, and a 10-page sample of the play. Submissions may be sent to:

New Repertory Theatre
Attn: Next Voices
200 Dexter Avenue
Watertown, MA 02472

All submissions will be read and responded to within the year.

Next Voices Program and Advisory Committee include:
Kirsten Greenidge, Melinda Lopez, Bridget Kathleen O’Leary, Jim Petosa and Kate Snodgrass

Past Next Voices Playwriting Fellows include:
Deirdre Girard, Walt McGough, Evan Sanderson, Peter M. Floyd, Patrick Gabridge, Anna Renee Hansen, Colleen Hughes, Emily Kaye Lazzaro, K. Alexa Mavromatis and James McLindon.